This morning I …

Exercise classes for Rubenesque Women

Sunday, June 10th, 2012

This morning I read about exercise classes especially designed for larger women. They are apparently really successful. The article talked about how uncomfortable larger women feel at regular gyms where they are judged and looked down upon by thinner gals. That’s true. Most of us don’t understand or accept obesity, including doctors.

Many years ago when I lived in Los Angeles, I joined a local gym. I knew I needed to exercise, and certainly could have been classified as a “larger” woman. There were movie starlets there (including Tina Louise) and I not only felt awkward, out of place and judged, but also invisible. The staff and other clients swarmed around the beautiful people like bees. No one ever said hello to me or acknowledged my presence. I must have been the only overweight person there, or at least that’s what I thought. No one on staff felt I qualified for any assistance or direction — and I needed both, plus encouragement.

Needless to say, I didn’t last long. And, with that unpleasant, demoralizing experience behind me, it took many years to feel comfortable enough with my own body to be able to join an exercise class. I’m glad I did. If you have hesitated to do so for any reason, go for it. These classes have kept me going.

Still, kudos to the enterprising women who recognize the need for such special classes for larger women and start them. May their businesses thrive.

Leave a Reply

